Erykah Badu Promises “Surprises” & “Guests” on New Project

The Queen returns.

With just a few days to go until Erykah Badu re-emerges with her first full-length since 2010's acclaimed LP New Amerykah Part Two: Return of the Ankh, Badu has pulled back the curtain on the details of But You Caint Use My Phone. In a new press release, Badu promises "guests" and "surprises on her forthcoming mixtape and reveals the inspiration behind the effort. The mixtape's name is inspired by her 1997 record "Tyrone," and every single one of the tracks featured on But You Caint Use My Phone makes reference to telephones and our own reliance on staying inter-connected." Badu's forthcoming release was recorded in Dallas alongside Zach Witnessin, who worked alongside the legendary soul-songstress to ensure that all the technical and musical aspects of the project "move in tandem to capture a feeling" Badu calls "sympahetic vibration." Elaborating, the press release reads as such:

Badu also used a tuning fork and Tibetan singing bowls to fine-tune these details, with the goal of creating a sound that brings peace and tranquility to its listener. It is a sound that Badu herself referrers to as a “whole new frequency” for fans.

You can read through the tracklist for But You Caint Use My Phone below, while the mixtape will arrive this Friday.

Erykah Badu - But You Caint Use My Phone (Tracklist)

01. Caint Use My Phone Suite
02. Hi
03. Cell U Lar Device
04. Phone Down
05. U Use To Call Me
06. Mr. Telephone Man
07. U Don’t Have To Call
08. Whats Yo Phone Number
09. Dial’afreaq
10. I'll Call U Back
11. Hello

You may also like